Monday, November 25, 2013

Monday Morning Music Shuffle - Corona Mix

Well here we go... it's Thanksgiving Week here in the US, and we begin a short week of Shuffles.

I'm thankful for my readers, for all the artists who make great music, and for the opportunity to get to meet so many awesome folks through the modern marvel of social media.

Now on to the shuffle... after the jump...

"Stubborn Axe Kid" by Black Doctor, Jr. (Single release - taken from the Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen Section 4 compilation.  Another great song from this incredibly wicked compilation.)

"Take it From Me" by Andrew Combs (from Worried Man. Taken from a 2012 American Sampler put out by the folks at Brite Revolution.  Combs is a major part of the new Nashville sound that features artist's like Caitlin Rose, Steelism, Jason Isbell, Amanda Shires, Jonny Fritz, and so many more.  Dig on this song.)

"Corona" by Minutemen (from Double Nickels on the Dime.  A stand-out track from this classic album and at 2:25 one of the longer tracks on the album.)

"Speed of the Sound of Loneliness" by Alabama 3 (from Last Train to Mashville, Vol. 2.  A cover of a John Prine song.  One of two covers the UK band Alabama 3 has done of this song.  This is the more acoustic version of the song.  An earlier cover appeared on the band's first album)

"Silver Tongue" by James and the Wild Spirit (from The Fires EP.  A nifty newish song from another band emerging from the burgeoning Nashville indie scene.)

"Heat Wave" by The All-About (from Suburban Heat.  The All-About appeared on that Mama Coco's compilation previously mentioned.  After we featured their song, we got hold of the whole The All-About album and added that to our active playlist.  Interestingly, the song that came up first happens to be the song we've already featured.  Oh well... it's a great song, and we look forward to featuring more from this Central New York band lead by Zac Coe.)

WATCH (video playlist of the day)


No comments:

Post a Comment