Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Wild Wednesday Morning Shuffle - Dance Your Life Away Mix

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook

Happy New Year!  I am back to blogging after an extended holiday. 

ICYMI - I made the Bands and Artists of the Year announcement late last week.  HERE is the link to that post.

If you are going to be in Nashville on Sunday January 14 (which happens to be my birthday), E2TG will be hosting a show at The Local (formerly known as The Country) - music starts at 8:00.

On the bill will be Conrad y Skordalia, Nelson  Zimmerman and Quinn (featuring Sean Quinn), and Danny Henry (who will be en route from Connecticut to California). It should be a great night of music, and I hope to see you there.  Here is the event link from Facebook.

Now I am Ready to kick into the new year. I have a ton of new music queued up, and I have some ideas for some changes for 2018.  In the meantime, I am going ease into the new year with three days of "Wild" shuffles of all the songs on my phone at present.

"Don't Look Back" by Fine Young Cannibals

We start with a track from The Raw and the Cooked - the 1989 second and final album by Fine Young Cannibals.  The album title comes from a 1964 book by  French anthropologist Claude Lévi-Strauss.

"'76: Hustle 76" by The Magnetic Fields

Next, up we have a track from 50 Song Memo by The Magnetic Fields.  Recording began on February 9, 2015 which was the 50th birthday of Stephin Merritt - the principle member of The Magnetic Fields. The album features one song for each year of his life. 

"Look to the Sun" by Saul Williams

 Next, we have the lead track from the 2011 fourth album  by rapper, poet, singer-songwriter, actor, writer Saul Williams. 

"Computer Program, Me" by SuperCrashingStar

Two-time Earie winners SuperCrashingStar are up next with a track from their latest album Digital Lo-Fi. 

"Running You Out of My Mind" by Andrew Combs

Next, we have Nashville's own Andrew Combs with a song from his 2012 debut album Worried Man. This track is taken from the soundtrack to the indie documentary about the Nashville underground music scene circa 2011. 

"More Than This" by Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs

Next up, one of my favorite songs (originally by Roxy Music from their classic album Avalon) performed by Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs (The Bangles) from their third collection of cover songs - Under the Covers. 

"A Thousand Miles" by The Rosellys

Next up, a track from UK Americana band The Rosellys from their album The Granary Sessions.  I was introduced to their music by Nashville artist Don Gallardo at Americana Music Fest 2016.

"I Need You to Tell Me Who I Am" by John Moreland

And we close out this first shuffle of 2018 with a track from the 2013 album In the Throes by Oklahoma singer-songwriter John Moreland. 

No comments:

Post a Comment