Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Trending Tuesday Morning Shuffle - Too Much Rain Mix

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

ICYMI: We premiered a new song from Bill Bloomer this morning.  You can check out "Doing Things Different" - HERE

I have a bunch of new music to  add to my playlist, but I also have a bunch of music in my playlists - so let's get to some of it.  It is time for the Trending Tuesday shuffle!

E2TG Song Premiere: Bill Bloomer - "Doing Things Different"

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

I am thrilled to bring you a song premiere from one of the more colorful characters that I have encountered writing E2TG. Bill Bloomer is an American expatriate living in France. We featured his most recent album Jubilee - which was my introduction to his music. Since that time, I have gotten to know him (as one can) through social media. I hope and intend to meet him sometime on one of his barnstorming tours across his native country.

Bloomer is getting set to release a brand new album called Bounty - which is due out August 2.

Today, we take a listen to "Doing Things Different".  A song which surely describes Bill Bloomer.

Monday, June 17, 2019

Music City Monday Morning Shuffle - Help Us Now Mix

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

And so, another week begins....

Music City Monday is always a favorite day of the week for me.  It is a great combination of new and older music that is all (somehow) connected to Music City USA (aka Nashville, Tennessee)

Let's just jump right in!

Friday, June 14, 2019

Featured Friday Morning Shuffle - A Beautiful Light Mix

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

ICYMI - My live review of Matt Costa, J.D. and the Straight Shot, and Matt Hartke was posted this morning.  Check it out HERE.

Hey, guess what! It is Friday.  We wrap up a busy but interesting week with a Featured Friday shuffle.  A couple of first listens and some cool tunes from some favorites.  Let's go!

E2TG Live Review - JD & Straight Shot with Matt Costa and Matt Hartke at City Winery

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

It has been a bit since I have written a live review, and I am grateful to have been given this opportunity.

As way of a disclaimer, I was not very familiar with any of the artists performing at City Winery on Wednesday June 12, 2019. I say this simply to indicate the perspective from which I writing this review.  As I was asked to write a review of J.D. and the Straight Shot - so that part of my review is longer.

Background: This was the final stop on the first leg of the tour which was sponsored by the SiriusXM station The Coffee House - featuring Matt Hartke, J.D. and the Straight Shot, and Matt Costa.  The Coffee House is a station that plays singer-songwriters and acoustic versions of popular songs.

I think that is enough with disclaimers and background.  My review begins after the jump.

Thursday, June 13, 2019

Trending Thursday Morning Shuffle - Second Chance Confessions Mix

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

People often ask me (not really) why I do random shuffles for E2TG. I mean, it is my blog, I could painstakingly "curate" a list of 8-10 songs and then post them every day. Why leave it up to the shuffle function to pick which songs pop up?

Never mind that if I picked the list every day, I would spend hours second guessing and obsessing over which new album I was neglecting etc. The main reason for my using the random shuffle is that I believe in the "magic" of randomness.  Over the last eight years, I have seen so many weird coincidences and cool connections pop up in a shuffle.  There's even one today - watch for it.

It has been a busy week, and it's not over. Last night, I stopped off on the way home to catch Nick Loss-Eaton of Leland Sundries doing a solo set at Tennessee Brew Works. You may recall, I had a Leland Sundries song in the shuffle yesterday (I had completely forgotten about Nick playing - until the event popped up on my phone) - see what I mean about randomness?  Anyway, it was a good time. Hung out with Collins de la Cour (who does the music booking there) and Ted Drozdowski (who sat in on a song with Nick).

A quick trip home and then it was off to City Winery to catch a show for a review I am writing.  Look for that review very soon.

Now, let's get to the shuffle.

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Wild Wednesday Morning Shuffle - I Know Better Mix

Be sure to "Like" Ear to the Ground on Facebook!

I had the chance to catch Martin Scorsese's new film Rolling Thunder Revue: A Bob Dylan Story last night at the Belcourt - Nashville being one of 10 or 11 cities hosting this one-night only big screen showing.  The film debuts on Netflix today. I highly recommend it even if you are casual Bob Dylan fan. It is a remarkable bit of film making and some magical moments captured from the Rolling Thunder Revue tour.  I won't say any more, and I recommend against reading too much about the film before you see it.

I will say that members of the theater audience applauded several times following live performances and also laughed out loud on more than one occasion.

Today, I have an opportunity to cover a show at City Winery and to write a review. It has been a minute since I have done a formal live review - so look for that soon.

On to another "Wild Wednesday" shuffle. I think this one lives up to the name...